Team USA had secured the top spot in the overall medal standings for a fifth consecutive Games with 104 medals!


The U.S. total of 104 medals in London was highlighted by 46 golds, the most Team USA has won in a non–boycotted Games since 1904.

2012 USA Olympic Medal Count

2012 USA Olympic Medal Count

Together, we made history at the London Olympic Games!

Even before Kevin Durant and the U.S. men’s basketball team put the finishing touches on a 107-100 win over Spain to claim another gold medal on Sunday, Team USA had secured the top spot in the overall medal standings for a fifth consecutive Games.

The U.S. total of 104 medals in London was highlighted by 46 golds, the most Team USA has won in a non–boycotted Games since 1904. And the Team couldn’t have done it without you! Your generous support of the United States Olympic Committee helped us make sure every athlete had what they needed to focus on achieving their Olympic dreams. And they paid you back on the medal stand time after time:

London 2012 Olympic Games Closing Ceremonies

The Olympic Flag is handed over to Rio 2016
The Olympic Flag is handed from Mayor of London, Boris Johnson to IOC President Jacques Rogge, who passes to Mayor of Rio de Janeiro, Eduardo Paes during the Closing Ceremony.

• Including team sports, 255 U.S. athletes won a medal; 27 won more than one medal, and 13 claimed multiple golds

• U.S. swimmers scored 31 medals behind legend Michael Phelps, who became the most decorated Olympian ever, with 22 medals and 18 golds. Phelps won the most medals across all sports in London with four gold medals and two silvers

• U.S. track & field athletes captured 29 medals – its largest tally since 1992

• U.S. women claimed 58 medals, including 29 gold medals

Read the full story on TeamUSA.org>>

And while the London flame was extinguished last night, there is always another challenge awaiting Team USA. London will host the Paralympic Games for 11 days starting on August 29, and then the U.S. Olympic Committee will turn its attention to the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. Help us keep this great momentum going by giving today. Thank you again for your support.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Olympics is a global event that celebrates local athletes and sports!  What was your favorite new sport?  How did the Olympics motivate you to go out there and play?

Was it Phelps, basketball or ? Mine was beach volleyball.  Feel free to post your favorite image.

Michael Phelps of the United States competes in the men's 100m Butterfly Michael Phelps of the United States competes in the Men's 100m Butterfly Final on Day 7 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at the Aquatics Centre.

Michael Phelps of the United States competes in the men’s 100m Butterfly
Michael Phelps of the United States competes in the Men’s 100m Butterfly Final on Day 7 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at the Aquatics Centre.

USA celebrate Basketball gold The USA players celebrate after winning gold in the men's Basketball final on Day 16 at London 2012.

USA celebrate Basketball gold
The USA players celebrate after winning gold in the men’s Basketball final on Day 16 at London 2012.

Kerri Walsh Jennings (L) of the U.S. spikes the ball past April Ross of the U.S. at the women's beach volleyball gold medal match at the Horse Guards Parade during the London 2012 Olympic Games August 8, 2012

Kerri Walsh Jennings (L) of the U.S. spikes the ball past April Ross of the U.S. at the women’s beach volleyball gold medal match at the Horse Guards Parade during the London 2012 Olympic Games August 8, 2012

8 Comments

Filed under Basketball, View All

8 responses to “Team USA had secured the top spot in the overall medal standings for a fifth consecutive Games with 104 medals!

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to provide one thing back and aid others such as you aided me.

  2. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my site thus i came to go back the prefer?.I’m trying to in finding issues to improve my website!I assume its good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

  3. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m now not sure whether or not this submit is written by way of him as nobody else recognise such certain about my trouble. You are incredible! Thank you!

  4. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article is amazing, great written and include almost all vital infos. I’d like to look more posts like this .

  5. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to offer something back and help others such as you aided me.

  6. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

  7. My brother recommended I may like this website. He was once entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t believe simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  8. I have fun with, lead to I discovered just what I used to be looking for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Leave a Reply

